books

Enervated

File:Ernest Ange Duez - Resting - Google Art Project.jpg
Descando; Ernest Ange Duez; Wikimedia Commons

Somehow, even without having anything to do on the weekend, I find myself exhausted at the thought of work on Monday.

I find out where I matched for fellowship on Monday. So maybe that’s why I’m feeling so exhausted. I have a LOT of thoughts about the fellowship match process — it was much weirder than it was for the residency match, perhaps because fellowship match is newer (until just a few years ago, people just applied, were offered a position, and went it with). I am extremely nervous. I know it will be ok. I just don’t know what ok will look like, I guess. OK could take me, literally, across the country.

__________________________________________________

Books 11 and 12

The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion

This was a fun little twofer, a beach read of sorts. (I didn’t make it to the beach this year, but it’s a similar light romantic comedy.) I usually hate romantic comedies because they are SO predictable, but The Rosie Project (the first book of the two), is actually a comedy that happens to be about love. So unlike 95% of romantic comedies, this one is actually funny! The premise is that Don Tillman, a Really Smart Scientist, decides to go about finding a wife, in the most rational manner possible: with a questionnaire. Meanwhile, a friend of a friend enlists his help in tracking down her biological father. Hijinks ensue — there is a lot of very physical and very verbal comedy in this novel. I wasn’t at all surprised to learn that it was originally pitched as a screenplay, and it would make a great movie.

The follow-up Rosie Effect loses some of the charm of the original, in part by transplanting the action from Australia to NYC, the city where dreams go to die. (Ask me how I really feel about New York.) Now Rosie is pregnant, so Don tries to learn how to be a model father … except no one can give him a straight answer as to what that means. Rosie was smugly irritating in this one in ways she wasn’t in the last, but the scenes with Don going off on his own to study young children in the park, or enrolling himself in a Child Welfare Project, were pretty amusing. A very satisfying read to them both.

Ratings: 4/5 for the first one, and 3/5 for the second.

Leave a Reply

