books · PGY-3

Book #3: Good Omens, and some life outside the hospital

I read this one for my book club, way back in January. It’s very much like The Hitchhiker’s Guide … to the Apocalypse. An angel and a demon team up to ensure that the end of the world goes smoothly, except of course it doesn’t. Mostly it’s a chuckling satire of bureaucracy and general human stupidity. I’ve never read anything else by Terry Pratchett or Neil Gaiman (those I’ve been gifted copies of the first Discworld book and American Gods, by wiser geekier friends) but I think I’ll have to hunt down some more of their work.


In other news, Spring is FINALLY here, after an endless East Coast winter. We didn’t suffer as much as the hardy fools in Boston, but I’m so so glad to see some green again. Especially that first spring green (Nature’s first green is gold) that signals that life is returned. One of my co-residents put it well: “I can tell you the exact time of year that I stop being a bitch — it’s the first day after Daylight Savings Time, when I walk out of the hospital and it’s light outside.”

It was a busy busy weekend for me. Socially as well as work-wise. I was the “senior” of sorts this weekend (all the real seniors are at the Academy meeting, so us 3’s are covering). This meant I had to round with the inpatient teams in the morning and generally make sure everything was ship shape. That in itself wasn’t bad, but part of being the senior means running stroke codes independently. Which means when that BEEP BEEP BEEP happens, you jump in your car and drive like a maniac. I wish we had little sirens to put on our cars, because waiting for a green light when there’s no one coming is the most frustrating thing.

But I’m glad I did it and got it over with. Monday morning was challenging, because I’d been woken up about every hour throughout Sunday, staffing consults from home. (The junior resident in house has to run things by the senior before calling the attending.) It’s a little weird being in a pseudo-attending role, I gotta say. But it’s a great sign of our program that I felt comfortable managing everything I got called with. I used to think that attendings had it easy compared to residents, but I’m starting to think it’s actually a lot more challenging. You are relying on someone else’s story to make decisions, which means you have to really trust that other person. It’s very different from supervising a med student, where you know you are going to retake part of the history and redo the exam. Just laying eyes on a patient makes all the difference — you get a sense of sick or not sick very quickly.

But the rest of this week has been a blast. I mean, I’m sitting on my porch after a very light clinic day (AAN this week = lots of cancellations), watching the sunset and drinking a leftover Bellini from a baby shower this weekend. Life could hardly be better.

Leave a Reply

