books · clinic · PGY-3

More on patient satisfaction

The patient satisfaction forms I mentioned in the last post? Are making it to the residency program now, courtesy of JCAHO (I think).

We were each given a packet of forms, printed on hideously green paper with black type (who made these, the Wicked Witch of the West?) to hand out to our patients.

JCAHO’s coming! Quick, gel your hands!

The statements themselves are in size 10 italic font (great for our elderly patients! so readable!) and range from “My doctor introduces himself or herself” to “My doctor is sincere, trustworthy, and doesn’t keep information from me.” Patients have to rate the resident on a scale of 1-5.

No mention of other things like “My doctor seems competent.” or “My doctor can answer my questions or direct me to more information.” Medical knowledge, it seems, is somewhat irrelevant in this brave new world.

In non medical news, I’m currently reading Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel. It won a bazillion prizes when it came out, and it’s being made into a movie in the spring. It’s a tad introspective, but I do like it. Also slogging through The Martian, by Andy Weir, my book club’s official selection, which … it’s like a survival guide to being on Mars. There’s lots of info on how to generate oxygen from hydrazine. There’s lots of “Yay! It worked!” or “Boooo! The generator failed!” which makes Our Hero (TM) sound more like a pre-teen girl than a 30-something mechanical engineer.

Leave a Reply

