cardiology · MS-4

Off-label

I was with my fellow in the clinic today. One of the patients was a very pleasant middle-aged lady, here for labs/med follow-up.

FELLOW
Well, Mrs. Two-Thirty, your bloodwork is looking great.

PATIENT
Doctor, can you give me something for sleep?

FELLOW
You’re already on a pretty high dose of trazodone. How about if we switch you to Ambien?

PATIENT
No, doctor, that don’t work neither.

FELLOW
Ok, what about Benadryl?

PATIENT
Can you give me Percocet?

FELLOW
Percocet! That’s only for pain.

 PATIENT
It’s the only thing that works for me, doc. I tried it, and it made me feel good.

FELLOW
I bet it did. Here’s an Ambien sample, see you in three months.

Leave a Reply

