culture · narrative medicine · New York

New Yorker

Yesterday I went to the Cooper-Hewitt with a friend to see the VanCleef & Arpels jewelry, which was purty.

I especially liked a zipper necklace of gold and rubies, which I think I will have to beg, borrow, or steal to wear to my wedding.

I can haz flapper jewels? (Photo courtesy of Smithsonian Institution)

The highlight of the exhibit, though, came from the little French girl who exclaimed of the mystery setting, “Moi j’pourrais faire ça!” Children: adorable in any language.

We then walked up to the Museum of the City of New York, which had exhibits on Joel Grey, the changing NY landscape, living room furniture (ok…), the GreenCarts, and toys. Kind of a hodgepodge, but that’s what NYC is, right?

I’ve never felt the pride that so many native New Yorkers feel in the city’s diversity — instead I see a place that’s dirty and crowded, where people scowl on the subway and push past you in the parks. The museums are certainly unparalleled, but they are so far (it took us an hour each way) that I rarely go. So this was a good way to spend a Saturday, but in the end it only confirmed my desire to be a tourist rather than a resident.

Which is awkward because there is a lot that I like about the neurology program here, and most everyone I’ve worked with has been great. It’s one of those personal/professional dilemmas that I kind of suck at resolving. A different living situation, a different neighborhood or environment, might help (this happened as well in college, where I spent my first two years fairly miserable until I moved into a residential college and suddenly the world opened). Only eight more months in this neighborhood!

Leave a Reply

