narrative medicine

Intubation, and other animals

Read a great article on Kevin MD just now by a resident teaching a med student how to intubate.

My first intubation was a scary, scary thing.  The attending was jumping around like a sparrow, which made me even more nervous.  But the resident I was with was great, just like Felicity Billings.  Calm, collected, and also just an all around cool guy.  I ran into him on my neurology sub-internship, and we chatted for a few.

I have to say, one of the most enjoyable things about my sub-internship was that, having spent a year rotating through the specialties, I knew quite a few of the residents I was consulting. Some I didn’t get along with, even as a third-year, and so the consult was as brief and professional as possible. But most of my residents were friendly and down-to-earth, and it was always fun when the consult turned out to be one of them. It just made the day a little easier.

I also did a lot of curbsiding of my friends in the student lounge (Hey, person-on-ID, do you know whether I should dose this renally? btw, wanna grab lunch?), which was equally kind of awesome.  I guess what I’m trying to say is that I would prefer to work somewhere collegial, where these kinds of conversations happen, this mix of personal and professional.

P.S. Papers are done! I’m on vacation starting tomorrow afternoon!

Leave a Reply

