Posted in narrative medicine

Things are looking up

My academic life is gearing up!  I’ve had two meetings with professors in the last week to discuss my ideas for the final papers.  One is going to be a conference paper on illness as imprisonment in Little Dorrit.  T’ other is going to be an intersubjective analysis of Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace. (How can one come to know the Other when the Other is multiple?)  I am also writing a media analysis on “Heureusement,” a stark commercial on Alzheimer’s Awareness (tagline: “Fortunately, they won’t remember”).  And trying to revise some of my literary work for submission to various magazines, as well as devise a curriculum for 9th grade Narrative Medicine/Case Studies for a program I teach on Saturdays.

*Head explosion*

It really is a ton of fun, though.  In the way that childbirth is painful and unpleasant and fairly gross, but at the end of it, you have a new person staring up at you, eyes sticky with silver nitrate, blinking in surprise.

(This time last year, I was just starting my OB rotation.  That was five weeks of abuse, but that moment of staring back into a newborn’s eyes made the pain almost worth it.)