MS-3

Here I go again….

After a relaxing couple of weeks off, I’m back on medicine. This time, instead of Gen Med, I’m on the ID service (which I had requested; I’m considering it as a career. Maybe. Aren’t we too young to have careers?) ID, however, is pretty much Gen Med for AIDS patients. Which is fine by me, because it’s very interdisciplinary — right now my team has a gentleman with 3 months of diarrhea, another guy with shortness of breath and oh-by-the-way renal failure (his creatinine, a marker of kidney function, rose from 1.9 to 2.7 in a matter of hours), and a lady with altered mental status. Our discussions jump from patient to patient so fast it could make your head spin.

I’m still not sure what I want to do when I grow up. The solution, of course, is to defer the decision-making for as long as reasonably possible.

Leave a Reply

